The Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts connects and enriches every Australian community, underpins our economy and society, and empowers our regions.

The Local Government section within the department supports the Australian Government and Ministers for Local Government to better understand, elevate, engage in, and enable Australia’s 546 local governing bodies.